World Book Day – Books My Three Are Looking Forward To Reading

The Middle School Book Series


Recently My Three were sent the first three books from the Middle School book series written by James Patterson. They are aimed at children aged 9 – 11 years old. Fans of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid book series will love these. The books follow Rafe and his journey through Middle School which is far from plain sailing. There are 8 books in the series already and a new book is due out later this month. A new Netflix movie has just been released that fans are sure to love. 

The Worst Years of My Life

Rafe Khatchadorian has enough problems at home without throwing his first year of middle school into the mix. Luckily, he’s got an ace plan for the best year ever, if only he can pull it off: With his best friend Leonardo the Silent awarding him points, Rafe tries to break every rule in his school’s oppressive Code of Conduct. Chewing gum in class–5,000 points! Running in the hallway–10,000 points! Pulling the fire alarm–50,000 points! But when Rafe’s game starts to catch up with him, he’ll have to decide if winning is all that matters, or if he’s finally ready to face the rules, bullies, and truths he’s been avoiding.

Get Me Out of Here

After sixth grade, the very worst year of his life, Rafe Khatchadorian thinks he has it made in seventh grade. He’s been accepted to art school in the big city and imagines a math-and-history-free fun zone. Wrong! It’s more competitive than Rafe ever expected, and to score big in class, he needs to find a way to turn his boring life into the inspiration for a work of art. His method? Operation: Get a Life! Anything he’s never done before, he’s going to do it, from learning to play poker to going to a modern art museum. But when his newest mission uncovers secrets about the family Rafe’s never known, he has to decide if he’s ready to have his world turned upside down.

My Brother The Big Fat Liar

Georgia Khatchadorian plans to excel at Hills Village Middle School in all the places her troublemaking brother failed. She’s even bet him that she’ll quickly become one of the most popular girls in school. But Rafe left a big mark at HVMS, and no one will give Georgia a chance! Even worse, Rafe has sneakily signed up her band to play at the school dance, and she’s terrified to embarrass herself in front of the snooty “Princesses” who run the school and the boy who’s caught her eye. Will she be able to overcome her fears and win her bet with Rafe? Find out THE TRUTH about Rafe Khatchadorian’s sister in the first Middle School story from the point of view of the hilarious Georgia—a girl who’s ready to speak her mind!

The Midnight Gang 

My Three love David Walliams’ books and can’t wait to read this book. The Midnight Gang is aimed at children aged 9 – 12 years old. 

When Tom gets hit by a cricket ball and wakes up on a ward in the huge, ancient pile that is Lord Funt Hospital, it looks like he has entered a very scary place indeed.

The first person he meets when he opens his eyes is a terrifying-looking porter and soon after he meets the mean-spirited matron; Tom’s prospects were not looking good.

Until that is, he meets – and better yet, joins –  the coolest gang there is The Midnight Gang. The Midnight Gang are a group of young patients who wait until the rest of the hospital are asleep before they go on the hunt for adventures…

Batman’s Guide To Being Cool

The Lego Batman Movie has only just been released in cinemas but it is proving to be very popular with fans young and old. This guide is aimed at children aged 7 – 10 years old and is full of colour photos from the hit film.

Are you ready to stalk the night, fight crime, defeat your greatest enemy, and find a crime fighting partner who is almost as awesome as you are? Are you ready to do something cool? If you answered “yes,” then this is the guide for you! Discover your inner cool with help from Batman, the coolest superhero in all of Gotham City and, yes, the universe. 

Horrible Histories – Dark Knights and Dingy Castles

One way of getting children interested in learning about history is to tell them about all the gory bits. Horrible Histories is a great series that does just that and there are many, many titles to choose from, from different periods of time. These books are aimed at children aged 8 – 12 years old. 
Step back into an era of cruel crusaders and dreadful dungeons in this horrible history book! Terry Deary takes you charging back to the days of chivalry when knights clanked about in shining armour waving weird weapons – and pitiful peasants cleaned up the mess afterwards! It’s a gruesome trip that takes in terrific tournaments and savage sieges, before descending into the dark dungeons of creepy castles. History has never been so horrible!

*We were sent the mentioned books to include in this post – any thoughts and opinions expressed are my own*

You Might Also Like...

No Comments

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: